11:11:11 raised the meditation bar worldwide.  Lotus-sitting, chanting, and visioning were ubiquitous.  Folks were clambering for the Peace Train on this palindromic day and I was amongst them.  I had seen  a comic of a ‘Buddhist Compliment’ recently.  It read, “You are the most thoughtless person I know.”  So, can the act of global thoughtlessness create world peace?

Even as a veteran meditator I still have to drag myself to sit and Shhh.   I am daunted by long yawning silences where I resist surrender.  My thoughts are addictive, they are cartwheels of imaginings and I love their tumbling momentum.  Yet, I still go in daily knowing I will strive to be more than the total of my headspace. Sometimes, I only experience a nano-second of stillness amidst the minds performing spectacle.  Yet those still-points are canyons.  They are deep and wondrous – enough to colour my day.

So, on 11:11:11 I knew I was not alone: there would be thousands of others squirming with me in spirit. Our focus was to champion world peace by connecting with humanity.  Surprisingly my meditation was effortless: infused with a sweet calm.  At its end  I squealed ,noticing 90 minutes had gone by without it seeming halfway possible.  From my sofa, in the backwoods of Australia, I had tapped into something large and endless.  I had been swept up on some collective magic carpet ride. Was this the universal love thang?

Thousands gathered on 11:11:11 at sacred sites, in homes, in parks and in halls. This sort of stuff never makes front page news.  Research supports that large assemblies of meditators can generate a significant reduction in conflict and violence worldwide.  I will not know the impact of this event as told by the mass media.  Perhaps it’s as well.   You are my eyes. Did you you have an extraordinary meditation (or otherwise) that day?

This clip captures (in part) the experience of thoughtless joining.  Peace.

